Tuesday 25 October 2016
Wolfgang's Vault


Christopher Cross – A Night In Paris

Artist: Christopher Cross

Label: Eagle Records

Released: July 16, 2013

Reviewed: July 21, 2013



I distinctly remember buying Christopher Cross’s landmark self-titled first album.  While I still have the vinyl record in my collection, I do believe that I wore the grooves plumb off of that album.  When I hear songs from that album, pleasant memories instantly are brought to mind.


With those memories never far away, I was thrilled to receive my review copy of the CD/DVD set by Mr. Cross entitled A Night In Paris.  After the release of the studio album Doctor Faith, the Grammy Award-winning artist started one of his biggest European tours of the last 15 years. A Night In Paris is his first live 2CD/DVD.


A Night In Paris, filmed at the notorious Theatre Le Trianon in Paris, France in April 2012, was filmed by 9 cameras in HD. The 90-minute show is impeccable, with new material fused beautifully with all the songs the audience is expecting, including tracks from the 2011 album Doctor Faith. Classics such as “Sailing,” Ride Like The Wind” and “Arthur’s Theme,” blend naturally with more recent songs like “Leave It To Me” and “November”.


While the previous tours showed a more acoustic (at times even jazzy) approach, Cross decided that for the Doctor Faith tour, he would go back to his musical roots and expand his band to a more classical “rock line-up”: Andy Suzuki (keyboards, sax), Dave Beyer (drums), Chazz Frichtel (bass, vocals), Kiki Ebsen (keyboards, vocals), Richie Gajate Garcia (percussion) and famous sound engineer Ross Pallone (Michael Jackson, Alice Cooper, Elton John).


Christopher Cross’ impressive career started in 1981 with his self-titled debut LP, which sold 20 million copies worldwide, and was instantly hailed by critics as a “rock masterpiece.” In only a few months, three tracks conquered #1 worldwide (“Ride Like The Wind,” “All Right” and “Sailing”), and Cross won 5 Grammy Awards including Best New Artist and Best Song (“Sailing”). He continued releasing material throughout the 80s and 90s. His original mix of rock, soul and blues, mixed with his sensibility and unique voice, gained the respect and appreciation of some of the best musicians in the world. In 2011, Cross released the critically acclaimed record Doctor Faith – his first album with new material in 12 years.  Album after album, Cross keeps delivering great song-writing, soulful performances and a high level of musicianship.


Christopher Cross is getting ready to embark on a US tour. Tour dates are below. 


Track List:


1. All Right

2. The Light Is On

3. Leave It To Me

4. Everything

5. No Time For Talk

6. When You Come Home

7. Minstrel Gigolo

8. Walking In Avalon

9. Sailing

10. Never Be The Same

11. Dreamers

12. Spinning

13. I Really Don’t Know Anymore

14. November

15. Arthur’s Theme

16. Ride Like The Wind

17. Say You’ll Be Mine



Tour Dates:


July 2013


5 - Chautauqua, NY - Chautauqua Institute Amphitheatre


13 - Tower, MN - Fortune Bay Casino


15 – Cape May, NJ – Stockton Goes To The Beach, Cape May Convention


20 – Paso Robles, CA – Mid-State Fair




August 2013


5 - West Allis, WI - Wisconsin State Fair – Main Stage


8 - Kettering, OH - Fraze Pavilion


10 - Aurora, IL – Riverfront Concert Series


13 - Morristown, NJ - Mayo Performing Arts


14 - Indianapolis, IN - Indiana State Fair – Marsh Free Stage


15 - St. Louis, MO - Family Arena


21 - Sandy, UT - Sandy Amphitheatre


23 – San Jose, CA – Civic Center


24 - Citrus Heights, CA - The Sunrise Marketplace Pavilion




October 2013


8 - Simcoe, Ontario - Norfolk County Fair




November 2013:


1-3 – Orlando, FL – Disney World




Featured Photo


Our Featured Photo by Boomerocity friend and famed rock photographer, Rob Shanahan (robshanahan.com), is of the statue of Freddie Mercury in Montreux, Switzerland!