Watch current interviews with music and entertainment icons and influencers of the baby boomer generation as well as rising stars in music.

Posted December 2021


candicenight004Frequent Boomerocity visitors might remember earlier this year when I talked to Candice Night, who is the wife of guitar, great, Ritchie Blackmore (here). Ritchie, of course, was in Deep Purple. I don’t know about y’all, but I played a lot of mean air guitar to many of Ritchie’s recorded guitar riffs – especially “Smoke On The Water”.

Additionally, Blackmore led his own band, Rainbow, as well as a ton of session work. Over the last twenty-plus years, he has partnered with his lovely wife, Candice, that focuses on minstrel music that has been extremely well received. They call themselves Blackmores Night and they do a phenomenal job with this genre.

They've recently re-released their 2006 Christmas album called, “Winter Carols”. They've remastered it, added another song or two and recently come out with a new video to accompany it. It's great, great seasonal background music while you're having the family over, have the fireplace going, while enjoying your family’s various holiday traditions. It's amazing work with a lot of songs you will know and some surprises in there that you won't know.

Candice and I recently had a phenomenal chat about the re-released album and many other topics. We just kind of let ‘er rip. It's always an enjoyable time talking with Candice. I think you'll enjoy watching it and listening to it. If you don't already have this album, i's a two-disc set and is a phenomenal value for your money, especially for the holiday music. You can order it by clicking on the album cover shown with the press release shown underneath the interview video, below.

Watch the interview. Then order this great Christmas collection. Then share all of this with your friends.

The Boomerocity Interview With Candice Night

Click On The Lower Right Corner To Enlarge The Video Above

Press Release

WinterCarolCoverClick Above To Order Your CopyNew York, NY (October 22, 2021)--Following traditional Holiday music back to its roots, Blackmore’s Night (Candice Night and Ritchie Blackmore) approach Christmas songs with their own unique styling. On November 19th, 2021, they will celebrate the holidays with the relaunch of their classic album Winter Carols, available as a high-quality 2CD Digipak Edition and digital album (earMUSIC).

Originally released in 2006, this 2021 version has been carefully remastered and contains these four tracks that were previously unavailable in this format: “Here We Come A-Caroling”, “It Came Upon A Midnight Clear”, “O Little Town Of Bethlehem” and “Silent Night”. Additionally, Winter Carols includes a remastered version of their timeless Christmas single “Christmas Eve”.

A brand-new song, “Coventry Carol”, is an English Christmas carol dating back to the 16th century with additional lyrics by award-winning lyricist / vocalist Candice Night and new musical arrangements by legendary guitarist Ritchie Blackmore.

Mastering the mix of Rock and Folk elements, Blackmore’s Night have always perfected the art of creating music for family, friends, and fans to come together and celebrate. Winter Carols provides the perfect backdrop for the holiday season.

Track Listing:

CD 1:

  1. Coventry Carol
  2. Deck The Halls
  3. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  4. O Christmas Tree
  5. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing / O Come All Ye Faithful
  6. I Saw Three Ships
  7. Winter (Basse Dance)
  8. Ding Dong Merrily On High
  9. Ma-O-Tzur
  10. Good King Wenceslas
  11. Simple Gifts (Lord Of The Dance)
  12. We Three Kings
  13. Wish You Were Here (2021)
  14. Emmanuel
  15. Christmas Eve
  16. We Wish You A Merry Christmas

CD 2:

  1. Crowning Of The King
  2. Here We Come A-Caroling
  3. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
  4. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
  5. Silent Night
  6. Christmas Eve (2013 Version)
  7. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing / O Come All Ye Faithful (Live From Minstrel Hall)
  8. Emmanuel (Live From Minstrel Hall)
  9. We Three Kings (Live From Minstrel Hall)
  10. Ma-O-Tzur (Live From Minstrel Hall)
  11. Good King Wenceslas (Live From Minstrel Hall)