Watch current interviews with music and entertainment icons and influencers of the baby boomer generation as well as rising stars in music.

Posted January 2022

Cover ArtClick Above To Order Your CopyI’ve said it before and I hope to say it a lot more times in the years to come: It's always flattering to me when an artist talks to me in the first interview, but it's even more so when they will take the time to speak with me again, or, in the case of some, several times over the years since Boomerocity was launched. Such is the case to be able to talk to - not only for the second time but for the second time in six months.

As you may recall, I talked to Ian Anderson back in July (2021 – here) about some things. As we discussed in that interview, he mentioned he had an album coming out towards the end of the year. And lo and behold, here it is!

Titled, “The Zealot Gene,” it is likely to be remembered as one of the best new classic rock albums released in 2022. I have listened to it and it is amazing!

If you're Jethro Tull fan, you're going to want “The Zealot Gene” and you're definitely going to want to listen to this interview. It's classic Ian Anderson. Highly intelligent (some might even say intimidatingly so). Like the last time, we talked about the current state of the pandemic, and of course, how it impacted the recording and the assembling together of this album; how it's impacted tour. We talked in-depth, again, about religion. Again, a truly fascinating man to listen to and I think you guys are going to love listening to what he has to say.

After watching the interview, please share it with your friends. Also, order "The Zealot Gene" by clicking on the album cover on the upper left. You can keep up with the latest on Jethro Tull by visiting, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and/or Instagram.

The Boomerocity Interview With Ian Anderson


 Click On The Lower Right Corner Above to Enlarge Video

 Press Release


Jethro Tull launch video for title track of new album ‘The Zealot Gene’

British Progressive Rock Luminaries JETHRO TULL recently announced details for the group’s first studio album of new material in over 18 years! ‘The Zealot Gene’ will see a January 28th, 2022 release on Inside Out Music. Today they are pleased to reveal the video for the albums third single & title track, once again directed by Iranian film-maker Sam Chegini who previously created a clip for ‘Sad City Sisters’.

Ian Anderson comments of the track: “The title track offers many allusions to the radical, politically-charged world of populism in leadership. As a song lyric, it sums up, for me, the divisive nature of societal relationships and the extreme views which fuel the fires of hate and prejudice, more so today perhaps, than at any time in history. Perhaps you think you know who I might have been thinking about here but, in reality, there are probably right now at least five prominent, dictatorial national figures who could fit the bill.”

Watch the previously released videos below:
‘Sad City Sisters’:
‘Shoshana Sleeping’:

“Ripe with fresh inspiration and resonant of past glories, it belongs high in the Tull canon.” – Prog Magazine

“The music is light, bright, tight and recognisably Tull” – Classic Rock Magazine

A record that began to take shape as early as 2017, ‘The Zealot Gene’, in many ways, seeks to defy convention during a time when the business of being a touring and recording artist has never faced more uncertainties. Tull bandleader Ian Anderson holds no reservations about the role for which the mythos and themes of Biblical storytelling played in the lyrical content of the new album, saying:

"While I have a spot of genuine fondness for the pomp and fairytale story-telling of the Holy Book, I still feel the need to question and draw sometimes unholy parallels from the text. The good, the bad, and the downright ugly rear their heads throughout, but are punctuated with elements of love, respect, and tenderness.”

Looking back on the earth-shaking disruption of the Coronavirus pandemic, which ultimately ended the band’s touring plans and hopes of a 2020 release for ‘The Zealot Gene’, Anderson shares, "It was so sudden. Amidst the concerns and warnings of the scientific community and a few more enlightened politicians, we all retreated in disbelief to our homes to wait out the storm."

The Zealot Gene will be offered in the following formats:
• Special Edition Digipak CD
• Gatefold 2LP+CD+LP-booklet
• Limited 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook
• Limited Deluxe 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray Artbook
The Deluxe 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray Artbook comes on white vinyl and includes a 3rd LP with the rough demos. It also includes a slipmat and a numbered art print. The blu-ray includes a 5.1 surround sound mix by Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson).

‘The Zealot Gene’ Tracklisting:

  1. Mrs. Tibbets (5:54)
  2. Jacob's Tales (2:13)
  3. Mine Is The Mountain (5:40)
  4. The Zealot Gene (3:54)
  5. Shoshana Sleeping (3:41)
  6. Sad City Sisters (3:40)
  7. Barren Beth, Wild Desert John (3:37)
  8. The Betrayal Of Joshua Kynde (4:06)
  9. Where Did Saturday Go? (3:53)
  10. Three Loves, Three (3:30)
  11. In Brief Visitation (3:00)
  12. The Fisherman Of Ephesus (3:41)

With more than 30 albums to their credit and sales totaling more than 50 million, Jethro Tull are one of the most successful rock bands of all-time with a catalog that contains classics that still resonate today. Led by Ian Anderson, Tull still continue to tour throughout the world, entertaining audiences of all ages.

The band currently consists of:
Ian Anderson - Flute, acoustic guitar, harmonica, vocals
Joe Parrish-James – Guitar
Florian Opahle - Guitar (album only)
Scott Hammond – Drums.
John O’Hara - Piano, keyboards and accordion
David Goodier - Bass guitar