Sunday 23 October 2016
Wolfgang's Vault


Stories + Road Dogs + In The Palace Of The King (Re-Releases)

John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers

Label: Eagle Rock Entertainment

Release Date: March 18, 2014

Review Date: March 16, 2014



Blues lovers, your CD library dreams are about to come true.  Eagle Rock Entertainment will re-issue in a single set (and for the first time ever) three of John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers’ albums. As part of the new Eagle Classics series, Stories, Road Dogs, and In The Palace Of The King is being released as a 3CD set and what a treasure trove of great blues it is! 


One can’t think of John Mayall without, a) thinking of the incredible catalog of blues this man has as his legacy and, b) the storied number of people who have paid their dues playing with him.  Greats such as Eric Clapton, Walter Trout, Mick Taylor, Peter Green, Randy Resnick, Harvey Mandel and many, many others.  With that in mind, whenever Mayall releases (or re-releases, as is this case) a disc, it is worthy of immediate attention. 


Stories + Road Dogs + In The Palace Of The King features such classics as Dirty Water, Kids Got The Blues, Road Dogs, Awestruck & Spellbound, Palace Of The King, Going Down, and Living On The Highway. Stories, released in 2002, is a mix of original songs and classics. Road Dogs, released in 2005, features fifteen original songs written by Mayall & The Bluesbreakers. Finally, 2007’s In The Palace Of The King is a stunning tribute to the late, great Freddie King.  And one of the three discs would be worth the price paid to get all three.


It is quite an undertaking for any musician to release three albums within the course of one decade. This trifecta of blues greatness proves that John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers are a formidable force of blues music and master musicianship. These three albums are a necessary addition to any blues fan’s collection.



Track Listing:


Disc 1: Stories 


1) Southside Story  


2) Dirty Water  


3) Feels Just Like Home  


4) Kids Got The Blues  


5) The Witching Hour  


6) Oh, Leadbelly  


7) Demons In The Night  


8) Pride And Faith  


9) Kokomo  


10) Romance Classified  


11) I Wished I Had  


12) Pieces And Parts  


13) I Thought I Heard The Devil  


14) The Mists Of Time




Disc 2: Road Dogs 


1) Road Dogs  


2) Short Wave Radio  


3) So Glad  


4) Forty Days  


5) To Heal The Pain  


6) Burned Bridges  


7) Snake Eye  


8) Kona Village  


9) Beyond Control  


10) Chaos In The Neighbourhood  


11) You’ll Survive  


12) Awestruck & Spellbound  


13) With You  


14) Brumwell’s Beat  


15) Scrambling




Disc 3: In The Palace Of The King 


1) You Know That You Love Me  


2) Going Down  


3) Some Other Day, Some Other Time  


4) Palace Of The King  


5) I’d Rather Be Blind  


6) Time To Go  


7) Big Legged Woman  


8) Now I’ve Got A Woman  


9) I Love You More Every Day  


10) Help Me Through The Day  


11) Cannonball Shuffle  


12) You’ve Got Me Licked  


13) King Of The Kings  


14) Living On The Highway




Featured Photo


Our Featured Photo by Boomerocity friend and famed rock photographer, Rob Shanahan (, is of the statue of Freddie Mercury in Montreux, Switzerland!