Watch current interviews with music and entertainment icons and influencers of the baby boomer generation as well as rising stars in music.


Inertia, Black Utopia, Mythology, Blood Of The Snake, Molecular Heinosity (Re-Issues)

Derek Sherinian

Label: Armoury Records

Release Date: February 11, 2014

Review Date: February 09, 2014

In September, 2011, when I reviewed Derek Sherinian’s then-new release, Oceana, I quoted Alice Cooper who called Sherinian “the Caligula of the Keyboards”.  Well, the good guys over at Eagle Rock Entertainment (through their rock label, Armoury Records) is reissuing five of Derek Sherinian’s solo albums that will show full well why Alice said what he did. 

As one of the most talented, respected and in-demand keyboard players in rock, he is known for attacking, confident and instantly recognizable style. A former member of Dream Theater and Black Country Communion, he has also played with Alice Cooper, Kiss, Billy Idol, Yngwie Malmsteen and Black Label Society. He is also a member of the supergroup Portnoy, Sheehan, MacAlpine, Sherinian, (PSMS).


The first of Armoury’s reissue series is Inertia, which was Derek Sherinian’s second solo album, originally released in 2001. It marks the start of his long-term collaboration with Toto drummer Simon Phillips and includes contributions from Zakk Wylde, Steve Lukather and Tony Franklin.  Black Utopia was the third solo album, originally released in 2003. It features contributions from Zakk Wylde, Steve Lukather, Simon Phillips, Billy Sheehan, Yngwie Malmsteen and Al Di Meola. The track Axis Of Evil features a stunning guitar duel between metal icons Zakk Wylde and Yngwie Malmsteen. 

Fourth came Mythology, originally released in 2004. It features contributions from Zakk Wylde, Steve Lukather, Simon Phillips, Allan Holdsworth, Steve Stevens and a rare guest appearance by John Sykes.  Blood Of The Snake was Derek Sherinian’s fifth solo album, originally released in 2006. It features contributions from Billy Idol, Slash, Zakk Wylde, John Petrucci, Simon Phillips, Yngwie Malmsteen and Steve Lukather among others. Molecular Heinosity was Derek Sherinian’s sixth solo album, originally released in 2009. This album features contributions from Zakk Wylde, Virgil Donati, Brian Tichy and Tony Franklin.

Armoury’s reissue of these five Derek Sherinian solo albums represents their release at mid-price for the first time and is the perfect way to enjoy this incredible talent, described by Guitar World as the “King Of Keys”.

Additionally, a direct-to-consumer store will be available with all 5 CD’s and an exclusive shirt bundle. Order up by visiting this link: